Re: Movie: White Caps and Summer Hacks
Re: Which Front Pad
Re: Lake Erie Wave Day
Re: LF Skate 5'11" 2008 vs LF Skate 5'11" 2009
Re: Kite setup tips/tricks
Re: Which table to choose
Re: Strapless Air Transition with heli-loop

Strapless and Proud

Are you killing it on your surfboard? Have a question about riding styles or a trick? What surfboards work, what doesn't. This is the place to talk about your surfboard gear.

Moderators: Todd, JonModica

Strapless and Proud

Postby dugman » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:25 am

:) Hi
Live on Maui and just discovered your sight yesterday. I just purchased a second hand board today and had my first strapless session about an hour after I left the surf shop. Like the feel of a lighter board and freedom of movement without the straps. I have been riding strapped directionals on and off for the past 12 years.
I have a few questions. I weigh about 250 lbs so I picked up a Rusty Pirahna 6'4" thruster for lighter winds and smoother water. I do have a custom naish Fish quad that is 5'7" and 20.5 wide that I have not taken the straps off yet. The fins that came with the Piranha are about 4.5 inches and was wondering if I need to change them out to somthing larger? The board has a skatey feel to it which I kind of like but it did not go up wind too well compaired to my Fish. That may just be the characteristics of the board. Thanks in advance for any advice.
dugman
Grom

Share |

Drifter for strappless surf

Postby dugman » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:50 pm

I am on my third week or so of strapless rideing. Gets more fun each time I go out. I demoed a 11m Cab Drifter today and found it very nice for strapless surfing. Had a three hour session with it and my Rusty Pirahna 6'4" in about head high surf. Great combo. :D
dugman
Grom

Share |

Re: Drifter for strappless surf

Postby Lonny » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:08 am