Re: Movie: White Caps and Summer Hacks
Re: Which Front Pad
Re: Lake Erie Wave Day
Re: Kite setup tips/tricks
Re: Which table to choose
Re: Strapless Air Transition with heli-loop
Re: Make your own fins - #2 THE FIN SHAPER

Gybing the Skimmy help

This is the place to talk about riding styles, tricks, conditions, what works, what doesn't on your skimboard. Wondering about what skimboard to get for kiting? Post it all here.

Moderators: Lonny, Todd

Gybing the Skimmy help

Postby AdeyG » Sat Jul 10, 2010 10:53 am

I've now been out on the Skimboard 3 sessions (Zap Pro) in choppy water 13-17mph wind. Great fun and amazed that as a novice I can ride it in quite choppy conditions and just how well it goes upwind.
I have fitted a leash attachment through the heel section of the rear deckpad to which I attach a retractable leash. This has already saved me loads of time as the first time out when I fell off, being a skimboard, it goes for miles. However it does mean that I have to gybe the board like my surfboard but its even more difficult! I get it about 25% of the time but would like to improve the stats. Any tips? Do I switch and gybe or gybe and switch. I find that I can turn to go toeside Ok is just when I try to move my feet there is a problem and things go wrong very easily.
Can't find a nice easy video to follow which will help me out either. Help appreciated or do I just keep trying?
AdeyG
Grom

Share |

Re: Gybing the Skimmy help

Postby pebbles » Mon Jul 12, 2010 6:08 am

First of all get rid of that leash. I know it helps but it has the potential to hurt you severely. Get comfortable body-dragging for the board.