Re: A Work In Progress: Video by Nate Apple
Re: Movie: White Caps and Summer Hacks
Re: Which Front Pad
Re: Lake Erie Wave Day
Re: LF Skate 5'11" 2008 vs LF Skate 5'11" 2009
Re: Kite setup tips/tricks
Re: Which table to choose
Re: Strapless Air Transition with heli-loop

Hi, I'm new and could really use some help.

Welcome to losethestraps.com - the original site dedicated to kitesurfers that are evolving the strapless scene. Please introduce yourself to the forum by posting here.

Moderator: Lonny

Hi, I'm new and could really use some help.

Postby Adrian246 » Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:47 pm

First off I'd like to pay compliments on the site. I've been thinking for a while about kiting with a skimboard but didn't know till a few weeks ago that a lot of people actually did it and then to find LTS just made me think about it even more.
Now here's where it gets tricky. I'll essentially be coming into this as an almost complete newbie (15+ years surfing might help with balance and i did actually kind of start kiting (got up on the board and went downwind) but somehow never really kept it up.
For now I'm not interested in being a half mile out to sea but more shorebreak/beachbreak and 'small' waves and I could really use advice on gear.
Obviously I'll get a trainer kite and move on to a something bigger. I was looking at a Hydra 350 because it's one of the bigger trainers I could find and it's more water friendly than others but it seems expensive for a trainer especially if I'll be wanting a bigger kite in the near future (there IS a budget).
I gave a friend my last surfboard (a 6'2" WRV) a few years ago so I'll need something to stand on but should it be a skimboard (wood / foam core?) or wakeskate?
I'd really appreciate and advice.

Thanks

Adrian

PS I live in Barbados if that makes any difference in equipment choice.
Adrian246
Grom

Share |

Re: Hi, I'm new and could really use some help.

Postby doc1 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:14 pm